HIT & RUN
If you’ve been charged with a hit and run, your future is on the line. A hit & run attorney with offices in Delaware County may be able to help you.
In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, a hit and run is defined simply as leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident without identifying yourself or leaving contact information, whether the accident involved injury to another person or property damage only.
It is your responsibility to stop after an accident has occurred, regardless of how minor the damage appears to be and regardless of whether you believe the accident was your fault or not. To flee the scene of an accident without identifying yourself or leaving contact information is illegal and is punished harshly in Pennsylvania.
How A & Run Conviction Is Punished
How you are charged and penalized is largely dependent upon the extent and/or severity of the damage caused by the accident.
3rd Degree Misdemeanor – Typically charged when only property damage is involved and carries a penalty of up to $2500 in fines and up to one year in jail.
3rd Degree Felony – Typically charged when the accident has involved injury or death to other persons and carries a mandatory 90 day jail sentence, in addition to penalties of up to 7 years incarceration and a minimum $1,000 fine.
Can A Delaware County Hit & Run Attorney Help You?
Hit & run charges are something to take seriously. If you have been accused of fleeing the scene of an accident, you need to consult with an experienced Philadelphia hit & run lawyer as quickly as possible. At the Law Firm of Schrom & Shaffer, P.C., we will investigate your case thoroughly to look for evidence that supports your innocence, and we will fight hard for the charges against you to be dismissed entirely or reduced.